Welcome To the Trevithick Trail

Skip to main content

Locations of Historic Interest

The Trevithick Trail runs for nine miles from Penydarren in Merthyr Tydfil to Abercynon, an ex-mining village at the confluence of the Taff and Cynon rivers. It follows the line of the early nineteenth century Merthyr or Penydarren Tramroad which linked three of Merthyr’s ironworks to a loading point on the Glamorganshire Canal at a place then called Navigation.

Two years after the completion of its construction in 1802, the Cornishman Richard Trevithick ran a steam locomotive along its length, an event that was to establish a landmark in the history of railway development and forever link the tramroad with the name of the locomotive’s constructor.

Trevithick trail MapThe route the trail follows, as well as offering the walker/cyclist the opportunity to enjoy some unrivalled natural habitats, visits sites that were significant in the industrial and social history of the area. The eleven chosen locations marked on the map offer information, which will help the traveller to gain a better understanding of the area’s past, and hopefully a greater enjoyment of the experience.

Download the Map (PDF 400kb)